Segments in this Video

Introduction: Young Performers Vol. 5 (03:18)


Leonard Bernstein welcomes the audience to the annual concert of talented youth. Performers range in age from 14 to 24. Heidi Lehwalder is a young harpist from Seattle who will play the first movement from a concerto composed by George Frideric Handel.

"Concerto in B-Flat": I. (04:46)

Lehwalder plays the harp solo from the concerto by Handel. Bernstein conducts the New York Philharmonic.

"Introduction" and "Allegro" (12:56)

Lehwalder joins Amos Eisenberg and Weldon Berry, Jr. in the composition by Maurice Ravel. All the assistant conductors are from foreign countries. Claudio Abbado conducts the New York Philharmonic.

"Capriccio for Piano and Orchestra" (10:57)

Shulamit Ran plays the piano in her own composition. Teachers include Nadia Reisenberg and Norman Dello Joio. Pedro Calderon conducts the New York Philharmonic.

"Rhapsody No. 1": Part II (07:31)

The solo in this Béla Bartok composition is traditionally played on a violin. Stephen Kates performs it on a cello. Zdenek Kosier conducts the New York Philharmonic.

"William Tell Overture" (12:05)

Kates returns to the stage to perform the solo introduction on the cello. Bernstein conducts the New York Philharmonic in Gioachino Rossini's composition.

Credits: Young Performers Vol. 5 (01:27)

Credits: Young Performers Vol. 5

For additional digital leasing and purchase options contact a media consultant at 800-257-5126
(press option 3) or

Young Performers Vol. 5

Part of the Series : Young People's Concerts
DVD (Chaptered) Price: $169.95
DVD + 3-Year Streaming Price: $254.93
3-Year Streaming Price: $169.95



In this annual presentation of young talent, Heidi Lehwalder, harpist, plays Handel's Concerto in B-flat with Bernstein conducting. She then joins Weldon Berry (clarinet) and Amos Eisenberg (flute) for Ravel's Introduction and Allegro with Claudio Abbado conducting. Shulamit Ran plays piano in a composition of her own with Pedro Valderon conducting. Stephen Kates (cello) plays a Bartók composition with Zdenek Kosler conducting and solos during Rossini's William Tell Overture with Bernstein conducting.

Length: 54 minutes

Item#: BVL192750

Copyright date: ©1963

Closed Captioned

Performance Rights

Prices include public performance rights.

Not available to Home Video, Dealer and Publisher customers.