Segments in this Video

Introduction: "The Sound of a Hall" (03:50)


Philharmonic Hall at Lincoln Center is the new location for "Young People's Concerts." Concert venues must be scientifically planned to provide the best acoustics.

"The Roman Carnival Overture" (08:28)

Leonard Bernstein conducts the New York Philharmonic in Hector Berlioz's composition.

Explanation of Acoustics (07:42)

Music is comprised of vibrations or sound waves. Architects design concert halls to have a reverberation time of two seconds. Bernstein describes the physics behind acoustics and provides examples using "The Roman Carnival Overture."

"The Little Horses" (03:30)

Shirley Verrett-Carter sings the piece adapted by Aaron Copland. Bernstein conducts the New York Philharmonic.

Issues with Construction (02:27)

Bernstein describes how architects, acousticians, and musicologists solved problems with the Philharmonic Hall. Audience members absorb sound waves.

"Concerto for Four Violins": I. (05:24)

John Corigliano, Frank Gullino, Joseph Bernstein, and William Dembinsky perform solo violin pieces in the Antonio Vivaldi composition. Bernstein conducts the New York Philharmonic.

"Tango Pasodoble" from "Facade" (04:26)

Orchestras need to clearly hear the other instruments. This composition includes cellos, flutes, a clarinet, trumpets, a saxophone, and drums. Bernstein performs the speaking role in the William Walton composition.

Overture 1812 (15:15)

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky's composition tests the dynamic range and acoustics of the Philharmonic Hall. Bernstein conducts the New York Philharmonic.

Credits: The Sounds of a Hall (01:09)

Credits: The Sounds of a Hall

For additional digital leasing and purchase options contact a media consultant at 800-257-5126
(press option 3) or

The Sounds of a Hall

Part of the Series : Young People's Concerts
DVD (Chaptered) Price: $169.95
DVD + 3-Year Streaming Price: $254.93
3-Year Streaming Price: $169.95



Bernstein discusses accoustics, and the accoustic properties of a Philharmonic Concert Hall are demonstrated as the orchestra performs pieces by Berlioz, Copland, Vivaldi, Walton, and Tchaikovsky. Pieces featured are Overture: The Roman Carnival (Berlioz),, The Little Horses (Copland), Concerto for Four Violins (Vivaldi), Façade: Tango (Walton), and Overture 1812 (Tchaikovsky).

Length: 54 minutes

Item#: BVL192743

Copyright date: ©1962

Closed Captioned

Performance Rights

Prices include public performance rights.

Not available to Home Video, Dealer and Publisher customers.