Segments in this Video

Forever Beethoven: Introduction (04:40)


Ludwig van Beethoven is the most commonly played composer for orchestra. Frequently played pieces include "Symphony No. 5," Symphony No. 9," "Funeral March," and sonatas. Leonard Bernstein provides a brief biography on Beethoven.

"Symphony No. 5 in C Minor": I.: Allegro Con Brio (06:47)

Bernstein conducts the New York Philharmonic in the Beethoven composition.

"Symphony No. 5 in C Minor": Analysis (03:52)

All great composers create music that is unpredictable. Individuals need to combine wisdom with the freedom to secure the best outcome. "Symphony No. 5" provides the unexpected in the third movement.

"Piano Concerto No. 4 in G Major": II. Andante con Moto (06:55)

Bernstein describes the musicality of the second and third movement of the concerto and introduces Joseph Kalichstein. Paul Capolongo is an assistant conductor at the New York Philharmonic. See footage of their performance.

"Piano Concerto No. 4 in G Major": III. Rondo: Vivace (10:22)

Kalichstein plays the piano solo in the Beethoven concerto. Capolongo conducts the New York Philharmonic in the third movement.

"Leonore, No. 3": Overture: Introduction (03:17)

Bernstein describes how Beethoven wrote "Fidelio" over a period of 12 years. Leonora, Florestan's wife, obtains work at the prison where her husband is incarcerated to help him escape. This overture is a symphonic poem and the masterpiece of the four overtures composed for the opera.

"Leonore, No. 3": Overture: Performance (13:23)

Bernstein conducts the New York Philharmonic in the Beethoven composition.

Credits: Forever Beethoven (01:06)

Credits: Forever Beethoven

For additional digital leasing and purchase options contact a media consultant at 800-257-5126
(press option 3) or

Forever Beethoven

Part of the Series : Young People's Concerts
DVD (Chaptered) Price: $169.95
DVD + 3-Year Streaming Price: $254.93
3-Year Streaming Price: $169.95



In this all-Beethoven program, works by the composer are performed and discussed. The assistant conductor is Paul Capolongo and the piano soloist is Joseph Kalichstein. Performances include the first movement of Symphony No. 5 in C Minor, Piano Concerto No. 4 in G Major (second and third movements), and Overture to Leonore, No. 3.

Length: 52 minutes

Item#: BVL192736

Copyright date: ©1968

Closed Captioned

Performance Rights

Prices include public performance rights.

Not available to Home Video, Dealer and Publisher customers.