Segments in this Video

Today on "Camera Three" (02:12)


In honor of Igor Stravinsky's 75th birthday, James Macandrews presents the second act of "The Story of a Soldier." In the first act, a soldier makes a pact with the devil and becomes wealthy, but loses his soul (represented by the violin). This theater work incorporates many dance styles, artistic forms, and tones.

"L'Histoire du Soldat": Part One (04:23)

Joseph throws aside all his belongings and decides to travel. The King announces his daughter will marry whoever makes her feel better. A soldier convinces the man to compete for the hand of the princess.

"L'Histoire du Soldat": Part Two (06:12)

Joseph wanders among the orchestra as they perform Stravinsky's music. The narrator convinces Joseph to gamble away his money. When the devil falls, Joseph grabs his violin.

"L'Histoire du Soldat": Part Three (06:50)

Joseph enters the princess's bedchamber and begins to play his violin. The princess heals and starts dancing with Joseph.

"L'Histoire du Soldat": Part Four (01:10)

While Joseph and the Princess embrace, the devil arrives. Joseph realizes he can defeat the devil by playing his violin. The devil falls to the ground and they drag his body away.

"L'Histoire du Soldat": Part Five (05:32)

Joseph can never leave the castle or the devil will regain control of him. The Narrator explains how the princess convinced Joseph to travel to his mother where the devil awaits.

Credits: Stravinsky’s “L'Histoire du Soldat” (00:25)

Credits: Stravinsky’s “L'Histoire du Soldat”

For additional digital leasing and purchase options contact a media consultant at 800-257-5126
(press option 3) or

Stravinsky’s “L'Histoire du Soldat”

DVD (Chaptered) Price: $129.95
DVD + 3-Year Streaming Price: $194.93
3-Year Streaming Price: $129.95



Portions of the renowned experimental theater work L'Histoire du Soldat by Igor Stravinsky, from 1918. Performance by James Mitchell, Annabelle Gold, Arthur Malet, Max Adrian. Emanuel Vardi conducts the orchestra; choreography is by Anna Sokolow. The work blends narration, dance, music and characters in changing disguises to tell a surreal story about a common soldier who loses his soul to the devil. Comedy becomes romance and then despair.

Length: 27 minutes

Item#: BVL128493

ISBN: 978-1-64023-325-6

Copyright date: ©1957

Closed Captioned

Performance Rights

Prices include public performance rights.

Not available to Home Video customers.