DVD + 3-Year Streaming
3-Year Streaming

The Dream Pioneers: Visionaries of Science Fiction

This program looks at the careers and manifold influence of The Los Angeles Science-Fiction League’s most famous members: Forrest J. Ackerman, the mainspring of the group, who coined the term "Sci-Fi"; Ray Bradbury, renowned author of The Martian Chronicles and Fahrenheit 451; and Ray Harryhausen, master of stop-motion animation. Extended interviews with all three men and the numerous filmmakers, special effects artists, and NASA researchers they have inspired illuminate how so many of their dreams have become reality. (50 minutes)

Playing preview clip:
Science Fiction Visionaries
Formed in 1934, the Los Angeles Science Fantasy Society (LASFS) provides a foundation and beginning for many important figures in sci-fi books and movies, including such as greats as Ray Bradbury and Forrest Ackerman.